From 2018-04-13 to 2018-05-15

An Incredible Calling

A very striking experience was the extraordinary conversion story of Deacon Paul Ma. Paul was an atheist but was converted to Catholicism in Shanghai, China during the Holy Year 2000. He had the unexpected vision of Jesus speaking to him from the Cross, asking him to follow him. This experience troubled him so deeply that he confided it to a priest. This began his conversion journey and he was later baptized and was named after St. Paul.

After immigrating to Canada in 2001, Paul raised his family in a very humble way, but again he got an unusual calling to become a deacon in 2002. He ignored it but God kept giving him signs and in 2008, his wife questioned him about his calling. Paul prayed secretly for more signs from God and indeed his wife was suddenly healed of her illness. With this confirmation he started to pursue his vocation to diaconate and was strongly supported by his wife and three kids.

Presently aside from his full time job, he preaches homilies and serves the poor and needy. He also accepts to teach Bible on Salt and Light TV channel.  It was a joy for Cecilia to meet him in person as she had listened to him on Salt and Light Channel. The parish is blessed with a humble, hard-working and loving pastor and now a very devoted and gentle Deacon.   

From 2018-04-05 to 2018-04-25

Did you know

·Mother Délia did not attend the blessing of the Foreign Missions Seminary ?  She had two sisters represent her.  Perhaps she feared that the role she had played in the deci-sion of the bishops of the Province of Quebec to found a seminary would be revealed ?

·the first profession was made privately for the first time on February 11, 1934 ?

… the cemetery of the Institute in Pont Viau exists since 1937 ?  The procedures to obtain the authorization of ecclesiastical authorities were conducted in 1936.  The mortal remains of our deceased sisters buried elsewhere were carried there, except for those who died in Nominingue where the Institute had a private cemetery on the property.  The transfer was made in 1975.                                

 Sr Huguette Turcotte, m.i.c.